South African
Medal Website
South African
Honours and Awards
Best viewed at screen resolution 1024 x 768

Updated: May 2006
© Arthur Radburn

Intelligence Service Decorations and Medals

South Africa is one of the relatively few countries which has decorations and medals exclusive to its intelligence services. There have been two such series of awards, comprising decorations for valour, distinguished leadership, meritorious service, and long service.

National Intelligence Service - The first series (1981-94) was instituted for the National Intelligence Service (NIS), which was disbanded in 1994. It included decorations which could be awarded to people outside the NIS.

National Intelligence Agency and SA Secret Service - The second and current series (2005- ) was instituted for the National Intelligence Agency (NIA) and the SA Secret Service (SASS) - collectively referred to as the "intelligence services" - which replaced the NIS in 1995.

Hosted by