South African
Medal Website
South African
Honours and Awards
Best viewed at screen resolution 1024 x 768

Updated: May 2006
© Arthur Radburn


When the Venda homeland became independent in September 1979, it established its own civil honours, which became obsolete when the Transkei was reincorporated into the Republic of South Africa in April 1994.


Order of Thohoyandou (1977-94)
For distinguished service to Venda. The order was divided into four classes:

• Grand Cross - for heads of state and prime ministers.
• Grand Commander
• Commander
• Officer

Insignia: A green-enamelled oval shield framed by two ivory tusks and depicting a golden elephant head (obverse) and the Venda national arms (reverse). The first three classes are worn around the neck, and the fourth on the chest. The Grand Cross and Grand Commander also have a gold 8-pointed breast star displaying the badge.

Hosted by