South African
Medal Website
South African
Honours and Awards
Best viewed at screen resolution 1024 x 768

Updated: May 2006
© Arthur Radburn

British Honours and Awards

From August 1814 to May 1961, South Africans were eligible for orders, decorations, and medals under the British honours system. In terms of the official Table of Precedence, they rank immediately after the post-1952 South African honours.

The following British honours were conferred on South Africans, and the dates shown are the periods when the awards were actually granted in South Africa.

In the case of military awards, only South African military forces have been taken into account: there were also many individual South Africans who won these decorations and medals while serving in the British forces.

Victoria Cross (VC) (1877-1945);

Order of the Bath (1900-46); Order of St Michael & St George (1877-1923); Order of the British Empire (1918-53); Distinguished Service Order (DSO) (1902-45);

Royal Red Cross (RRC) (1916?-45); Distinguished Service Cross (DSC) (1941-45); Military Cross (MC) (1916?-45); Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC) (1940-45); Air Force Cross (1927-45);

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM) (1879-1945); Conspicuous Gallantry Medal (CGM) (1941); George Medal (GM) (1940-45); Distinguished Service Medal (DSM) (1941-45); Military Medal (MM) (1916?-45); Distinguished Flying Medal (DFM) (1940-45); Air Force Medal (AFM) (1940-49); British Empire Medal (BEM) (1940-45);

South Africa Medal 1834-53; South Africa Medal 1877-79; British SA Company Medal; Queen's South Africa Medal 1899-1902; King's South Africa Medal 1901-02; Africa General Service Medal with "Somaliland 1904" clasp; 1914 Star; 1914-15 Star; British War Medal 1914-20; 1939-45 Star; Atlantic Star, Africa Star, Burma Star, Pacific Star; Italy Star; France & Germany Star; Defence Medal; War Medal 1939-45;

King's/Queen's Medal for Champion Shots (1924-61).

George Cross (GC) (available but not awarded);

Order of the Bath (1860-?1905); Order of Merit (OM) (1947); Baronet (1840-1924); Order of St Michael & St George (1872-1937); Royal Victorian Order (1911-47); Order of the British Empire (1918-45); Knight Bachelor (1821-1924); Order of the Companions of Honour (CH) (1917); Imperial Service Order (ISO) (1903-28); Order of St John of Jerusalem;

Albert Medal (AM) (1910-29); George Medal (GM) (available but not awarded); Edward Medal (EM) (1908-28); British Empire Medal (BEM); Royal Victorian Medal (RVM) (1947);

Queen Victoria Golden Jubilee Medal 1887; Queen Victoria Diamond Jubilee Medal 1897; King Edward VII Coronation Medal 1902; King George V Coronation Medal 1911; King George V Silver Jubilee Medal 1935; King George VI Coronation Medal 1937;

King's Police Medal (1911-33)

Hosted by