Nicaragua is located at the center of the Central America isthmus, which unites the two continental mass North and South America. Nicaragua's strategic position is valuable for the development of business, economy and geopolitical relations in the hemisphere.

Nicaragua is divided in 17 departments and more than 140 municipalities. The capital is Managua, which is located at the shore of Lake Xolothan, which means in Nahualt Language " a place where there is a large extension of water".

Nicaragua is a land of volcanoes and lakes. The volcanoes benefit the country in different ways, for example ashes from volcanoes fertilize the land for agriculture, also volcanoes are a source for geothermal energy. Volcanoes are part of the beautiful and natural landscape. Some of the most important volcanoes are: Momotombo, the Mombacho, The San Cristobál (the biggest one) and the Concepcion and Maderas in the Ometepe Island.

30 percent of the National territory is covered by tropical humid forest and represents the richest and complex ecosystem of the country. The conservation of this forest is a matter of national and worldwide interest because places like Zapatera Island, the Isletas of Granada, Mombacho volcano, Santiago, Rio la Flor are places of natural, archeological and cultural treasures. 


Nicaragua's climate is tropical, with temperatures determined largely by altitude. The coastal regions have a hot climate, with a mean average temperature of 27 º C (81ºF). In the central highlands the temperature varies between 16º and 27º C ( 60º and 80º). The rainy seasons occurs from May until early November. Annual rainfall in the Pacific lowlands and central highlands generally ranges from about 1,000 mm (40 in) to 1,800 (70 in), while the Caribbean coast receives more than 2,500 mm (100 in). Near Costa Rica border, rain can total as much as 6,350 mm (250 in).

Greenness, Water, Home, Fun... that's our Nicaragua



For more information about Nicaragua, contact us at [email protected]

Hosted by