InterTran Translation
AJ's Encyclopedia of Stamps & Philatelic Links


Burma was annexed to British India following Anglo-Burmese wars (1824-86) and separated from India in 1937. It was occupied by the Japanese in World War II. Burma gained independence as the Union of Burma under Prime Minister U Nu in 1948. The name was changed to Union of Myanmar in 1989. Postage stamps have been issued since 1937.

Postal Contact:
Myanma Export and Import Services
Export Division, Philatelic Section
No. 577, Merchant Street
Yangon, Myanmar

and from Malte:
Directorate General of Posts
Philatelic Bureau
Socialist Republic of the Union of Myanmar  
Burma Philatelic Study Circle
7208 91 Avenue, Enmonton, ALB, T6B 0R8 Canada

Download Album Pages: - $5 a year for all the countries you can eat!
Free Album Pages? This site is sort of like "shareware" software

CIA Data For: Burma, Union of - AKA: Myanmar
local long name form: Pyidaungzu Myanma Naingngandaw (translated by the US Government as Union of Myanma and by the Burmese as Union of Myanmar)
(still listed by the CIA as 'Burma'
former: Socialist Republic of the Union of Burma
Location: Southeastern Asia, bordering the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal, between Bangladesh and Thailand
Independence: 4 January 1948 (from UK)

Postage rates
- Markus Seitz

- 1999-2002 Arthur J. Ward