InterTran Translation
AJ's Encyclopedia of Stamps & Philatelic Links


Formerly a powerful Muslim sultanate, with dominion over all Borneo and parts of the Philippines, it fell under British protection in 1888. It was occupied by the Japanese in 1941, was liberated and reverted to its status as a British residency. Internal self-government was granted in 1971 with full independence in 1984. Postage stamps have been issued since 1906.

Postal Services Department
General Post Office
Bandar Seri Begawan 2050, Brunei
Darussalem, Brunei

(from Malte:)
Philatelic Bureau
Postal Services Deptt MPC
Old Airport
Berakas BB 3510
Brunei Darussalam

Brunei Darussalam Postal Services Department (Philatelic)
Controller of Posts
Philatelic Bureau
P.O.Box 3000,
Bandar Seri Begawan 1930
Brunei Darussalam

Crown Agents Stamp Bureau (not found on their country list)
Inter-Governmental Philatelic Corporation

Inter Governmental Philatelic Agency Online - for over 55 countries

CIA data for Brunei
Southeastern Asia, bordering the South China Sea and Malaysia
Independence: 1 January 1984 (from UK)
National holiday: National Day, 23 February (1984)

Universal Postal Union Addresses for International customer relations
Mail and Parcel Processing Centre
Postal Services Department
International Postal Affairs
Mme Normah Hj Buntar
Controller of Post
Old Airport Road
T�l�phone (+673 2) 383 764
T�l�fax (+673 2) 380 959

Postage rates

1999-2000 Arthur J. Ward