100/150 Class, Drew Model School
April 2005
My name is Soyome. I am 23 years old. I am from Nekemt, Ethiopia. I am married. My husbandís name is Chernet. We have one son. His name is Hunde. He is 1 year and 3 months old. I have four sisters and 3 brothers. My sisters and brothersí names are Qelemw, Zenesh, Selamawet, Calltu, and Jemayka, Ybeltale, and Alem. My father and my motherís names are Tesfa and Buzenish. My father is director of a school. My work is making sandwiches at Quiznoís.
(cousins)
My name is Julio. I am 23 years old. Iím from Guatemala. Iím single. I have 2 sisters and 1 brother. Their names are Maria, Geraldine, and Ernesto. My parents are Rene and Silvia. They live in Guatemala. My father likes to play soccer and my mother likes to read a lot. My older sister Maria lives with me. My sister Geraldine and my little brother Ernesto live with my parents in my country.

I have 1 aunt, her name is Marie, and 1 uncle, Fredy. They live in Sterling. My Aunt Marie bought a big house in Sterling. She is married and she has 1 daughter and 2 sons. My Uncle Fredy works in Alexandria and he is very happy. I want to work as a painter or in construction, but my boss is very angry.
My name is Ariel Garcia. I am 18 years old. Iím from Guatemala City, Guatemala. Iím single.  I have 2 sisters. My parentsí names are Bianca and Fredy. My father Fredy likes beer. My mother Bianca likes cooking. I love my family. I like to eat fish. I like to chat. I use the computer at the library Monday and Wednesday in Shirlington. 

My work is very heavy. I work every day, Monday to Sunday. My boss is always very angry. I work in construction and demolition of houses. In the future, I want to be a very good father.
(father and daughter)
My name is Ana Degrandez. I am 19 years old. Iím from Tegucigalpa, Honduras. Iím single. My mother is a homemaker. My father works as a carpenter in a company. I have three brothers and two sisters. One is named Tania. She is married. Her husband works as a mechanic. They have a son. His name is Michael. He is three years old. My sister Fany is married and works. She has three children and is very happy. My brothers are single. I am very happy with my family and nephews.

I like to play basketball with my friends. I work in a restaurant.  In my future I want to learn to speak English very good and to continue to study.
My name is Santos. I am 47 years old. I am from Tegucigalpa, Honduras. I am married. My wifeís name is Nidia. I have 2 daughters and 3 sons.  Their names are Tania, Nahun, Ana, Noel, and Josue.  Tania lives in Spain. Noel and Josue live in Honduras. Ana and Nahum live with me in Herndon, VA.  I have 3 sisters. They live in Honduras. I have 3 brothers. Their names are Calixto, Mario, and Fermin. They live in Honduras. I work in construction.
My name is Alex. I am 24 years old. Iím from San Miguel, El Salvador. Iím married. My wife's name is Ingrid. I have one daughter. Her name is Mayerle. I have 6 brothers and 3 sisters. My father lives in El Salvador. My mother passed away 5 years ago.

I work as a carpet installer.  I need to speak English in my work. I like to play soccer and watch TV.
My name is Maria Magdalena Mendez. I am 52 years old. Iím from Chinandega, Nicaragua. Iím single. My motherís name is Rosalpina Cerrato. She is 81 years old. I love my mother. I have one son and one daughter. My sonís name is Salvador. He is 17 years old. He lives in Alexandria, Virginia. My daughterís name is Magda. She is 27 years old. She lives in Chinandega, Nicaragua. She has 2 children. I love my family. They make me happy. I like coffee.

My work is in maintenance for Arlington Public Schools. Iím a custodian. I like children. It is important for me to study English. I would like to be a teacherís assistant.
My name is Patricio. Iím 44 years old.  Iím from Santo Domingo de los Colorades, Ecuador. Iím single. I have 3 children, 2 boys and 1 girl. My daughter lives in New York City. My 2 sons live in Ecuador. I have four sisters. All live in Ecuador.

I work at Global Products, Inc. Iím a shipping clerk. I like working. I love salsa music. I like dancing. Iím studying English for communication with my manager. In the future, Iím going to return to Ecuador.
My name is Aldo.  I'm 32 years old. I'm from Peru. I'm single. I have 2 brothers and 1 sister. Their names are Omar, Enzo and Mabel. They live in Peru. My brother Omar is married. His wife's name is Miriam. They don't have children. I work in construction. In my free time, I go to the library.
My name is Daiana. I am 27 years old. I am from Cochabamba, Bolivia. I am married. My husbandís name is Raul. I have one boy. His name is Raul. I study English. I am a homemaker.
My name is Maribel. I am 25 years old. I am from Cochabamba, Bolivia. My father and mother's names are Pablo and Maria. I have 2 sisters and 2 brothers. Their names are Delia, Laura, Pedro, and Tony. They live in Bolivia. I am married. My husband is Rolando. I like soda, sandwiches, and potatoes. I like to go dancing.
I am a housekeeper. I am studying English to speak in my work, to speak to people living in my apartment building, and for shopping. In the future I want to speak perfect English.
My name is Claudia. Iím 25 years old. Iím from Cochabamba, Bolivia.  My husbandís name is Christian. We donít have children, but we have a dog named Sisy. My dog is relaxing for me. My family is big.  My motherís name is Norma. She is 56 years old. My father is 62 years old. I have 6 sisters and 1 brother.  We live in Springfield, VA.  I work in a restaurant full-time. I wake up at 7:00 a.m. and finish at 6:15 p.m. and drive to school. It is very important to learn English.
My name is Hernan. Iím 32 years old. Iím from Cochabamba, Bolivia. Iím married. My wifeís name is Norma. I have two sons. Their names are Dennis (15 years old) and Guerry (11 years old).

In my country I drove a tractor-trailer truck.  I work as a construction finisher now. I like my job. On the weekends I like to go dancing and go to church.
My name is Norma. Iím 31 years old. Iím from Cochabamba, Bolivia. Iím married. My husbandís name is Hernan.  I have 2 sons.  Their names are Dennis (15 years old) and Guerry (11 years old).  I work as a housekeeper.  I like working.  I like dancing.
(sisters)
My name is Benjamina. Iím 50 years old. Iím from Cochabamba, Bolivia. Iím married.  My husbandís name is Alfredo. I have 3 daughters and 1 son, Marianela (27), Jenny (25), Ronald (23), and Mabel (21).  I was a homemaker in my country. I work as a housekeeper now. I work on Saturdays. On Sundays I like to go to church and to the park. In the afternoon, I relax.  I like to barbecue.
My name is Nelzon. I am 27 years old. Iím from Cochabamba, Bolivia. Iím married. My wifeís name is Maria. I have two daughters. Their names are Brisa and Paola. They live in Arlington. My parents live in Argentina. Their names are Juan and Ariel. They live in Buenos Aires. I have 2 brothers and 4 sisters. Their names are Sonia, Juan, Maria, Jhanet, Marizabel, and Ariel.
I like to work and to play with my daughter. I like to play soccer and play baseball. I like to do shopping and clean my car on the weekends.

Itís important to speak English in my work. My boss is American. Iím studying English because itís necessary for communication.
My name is Marcela Gonzalez. I am 38 years old. I am from Santiago, Chile. I have a husband. His name is Eric. I have two girls. One is 13 years old and one is 10 months. My mother is in Chile. My mother is a teacher. I have two sisters. My sisters are in Chile.

I work at the Army Navy Country Club. Iím a waitress, and I am a homemaker. In the future I want to return home to Chile. I like working, shopping, watching TV. I love music. I love dancing. I am studying English because in my work it is necessary and very important for communication. I want to improve my English for advancement.
To see what we wrote about our countries, use the links at the bottom of the welcome page.
Links for English students
Return to welcome page
1