A Tribute in Honor of:Best Spirit of Cricket  Initiative
Charity match 2005


ICC Development Program Annual Awards 2005

28 February 2006

Papua New Guinea dominate as ICC East Asia-Pacific announces regional award winners

The ICC East Asia-Pacific (EAP) Region today announced the regional winners of the ICC Development Program Annual Awards for 2005 with Papua New Guinea snaring three awards.

The Japan Cricket Association - promoted to ICC Associate Membership status in 2005 - took out the top award, winning Best Overall Cricket Development Program.

ICC EAP Regional Development Manager Tim Anderson paid tribute to all award winners.

�The Annual Awards is an important component of the ICC Development Program and I congratulate all winners on their outstanding achievements over the past 12 months and wish them luck with the global awards,� said Mr Anderson.

The EAP award winners will now join winning entries from Asia, Americas, Europe and Africa at the global awards.

Papua New Guinea (PNG) dominated the awards winning three of the eight categories.  PNG Cricket Board Chairman Mick Nades was honoured for his hard work and dedication over the past 12 months with Volunteer of the Year, while PNG Cricket Board completed the hat-trick winning Best Junior Development Initiative and Best Cricket Promotional Program.

In addition to the top award the Japan Cricket Association won Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative for their Pakistan earthquake charity event, which assisted in raising over US$40,000 to benefit the relief efforts.

Vanuatu finished with two awards, Photo of the Year and Lifetime Service Award (Mr Bill Grundy), while Indonesia took out Best Women�s Cricket Initiative after establishing the first-ever Indonesian girl�s cricket league.

The global winners will be selected by an esteemed panel comprising Ehsan Mani (ICC President), Malcolm Gray (former ICC President), Dr Ali Bacher (ICC Cricket World Cup 2003 Executive Director) and Roger Knight (Marylebone Cricket Club Secretary and Chief Executive).

The global award winners will be announced on 30 March 2006.

This is the fourth year of the ICC Development Program Awards which were established to recognise exceptional performance and service to the game in Associate and Affiliate Member countries. They form part of the ICC�s commitment to promoting excellence in cricket development.


  Best Overall Cricket Development  Program  Japan  Cricket Association
  Best Women's Cricket  Initiative  Made  Erawan - Gianyar Cricket Association  (Indonesia)
  Photo of the Year  Island  Cricket (Adam Pike - Vanuatu)
  Best Spirit of Cricket  Initiative  Pakistan  Earthquake Charity 8s (Japan  Cricket Association)
  Volunteer of the Year  Mick  Nades (Papua  New Guinea  Cricket Board)
  Best Junior Development  Initiative  Papua  New Guinea  Cricket Board
  Best Cricket Promotional  Program  Papua  New Guinea  Cricket Board
  Lifetime Service Award  Bill  Grundy (Vanuatu)
Japan been awarde by the ICC
Hosted by www.Geocities.ws