Website last updated September 2008
My name is Nicky Coleman.  I am a Registered Childminder regularly inspected by OFSTED. I am married to Steve (who is also police checked) and have two sons, Ben and Luke. We have two fish, two cats, a Bunny and dog who is a Jack Russell cross. My pets are vaccinated, deflead and wormed.

I have been a Registered Childminder since May 2001.  I am registered to "care for no more than 5 children under 8 years; of these, not more than 2 may be under 5 years, and of these, not more than 1 may be under 1 year at any one time".  At my last Ofsted inspection I received an overall "GOOD" grading with "Outstanding" awarded in the outcome "Enjoying and Achieving". Online link to my Inspection Report

We live in a three-bedroomed house with a large enclosed back garden and a dedicated playroom.  Both inside and outside are equipped with various toys and equipment for all ages with these being regularly updated and added to.

I take my chosen occupation very seriously and have always been keen to take any steps which I feel will increase my effectiveness as a Registered Childminder and improve the service I provide.  I have, and will continue to, undertake a series of training courses.  I have completed a Level 3 qualification "Certificate in Childminding Practice" by CACHE and a Level 3 Quality Assurance Scheme "Quality First" by NCMA..  I have also attended various training evenings run especially for Childminders and in 2007 I started the Foundation Degree in Early Years too (please see the "qualifications" link).

I am a member of the National Childminding Association, a Committee member of Magic Minders Childminding Group, the Worthing Childminding Network and a member of a Childminding Internet Forum called UKChildminders, which helps me keep up-to-date with Childminding issues and offers support.

Your child will be cared for in a home-like environment within a family atmosphere.  They will receive individual attention whilst also enjoying interaction with children of other ages. I attend regular sessions at Toddler groups in the Durrington, soft play centres and visits to other friends and childminders with young children.  When we can, we spend as much time out of the house as possible, visiting places such as the beach, library, park, zoo's, countryside, museums and other places of interest (weather permitting!) Please ask to see to see my folder of "what we did in 2008" when visiting!

You will receive a monthly newsletter to keep you informed of what your child has done in the month and important information to keep you updated.  For the under fives, I provide a daily diary which details events that have gone on throughout the day, food eaten, nappy changes etc.  A keepsake folder will be completed during their time here which will include photos of your child doing various activities, on trips etc.  I also complete regular observations linked to the new Early Years Foundation Stage and include samples of their work.  For the under 5's each month revolves around a theme, for example, teddies or transport, where planning is linked to the Early Years Foundation Stage. We do activities and outings linked to that theme or follow the child's interests, ensuring the children get new and fun experiences each month!

For further details about me and the service I offer, please contact me at [email protected]
(Click here to see the old Archives of the guestbook)
About Me
Hosted by