The Islamic Center of The Bahamas @ Nassau, The Bahamas


Zabiha Meat available at the masjid.

Halal and Haraam Ingrediants in processed foods:


The food ingredients are divided into Halal, Haraam and Mush-booh (the suspected) based on the Islamic dietary laws and products of personal use. 

Haraam (prohibited) ingredients are those ingredients whose source are from pork, pork by-products, alcohol and alcoholic beverages, human body such as human hair. 

Halal ingredients are from Halal sources such as plants or vegetables, chemicals, Halal synthetics, eggs, fish and zabiha meat sources which are permitted in Islam. 

Mush-booh ingredients are from doubtful sources.

Haraam Ingrediants:

1. Haraam Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation:

Alcohol in dry form is used as ingredient, Alcohol as solvent in flavor, extracting ingredients for color, spices, Bear, Bear Flavor, Bear Batters, Fermented Cider, Hard Cider, Rum, Torula Yeast grown on liquor, Soya Sauce (Naturally brewed with wheat and soy as mentioned in ingredient list with 1-2% alcohol), Sherry Wine, Vanilla Extract, Wine, Wine vinegar.

2. Haraam Ingredients from Human Body:

L - Cysteine (from Human Hairs).

3. Haraam Ingredients from Pig:

Bacon, Ham, Gelatin, Enzymes (such as Rennin, Pepsin), Marshmallow containing pork gelatin, Pork, Bacon bits.

4. Ingredients from pig may be mixed with grain & plant based ingredients:

Beta-Carotene (pork gelatin may be used as a carrier for proper dispersion of Beta-Carotene), Cheese & Dairy Cultures (if the media for growing cultures contains pork fat), Enzyme Modified Soya Lecithin (pork enzymes), Tofu (if the coagulant is from Haraam source). 

5. Mineral, Chemical and Synthetic Ingredients mixed with pork by-products:

Artificial Flavors (made from pork by-products), BHA & BHT (if the carrier from pork by-products).

6. Dairy Ingredients made from pork enzymes or Cultures grows on pork fat:

Butter fat Lipolyzed, Buttermilk Solids, Caseinates (Sodium & Calcium), Rennet Casein, Cheese Powder, Cultured Cream Lipolyzed, Cultured Milk, Lactose, Sour Cream Solids (also with pork gelatin), Reduced Mineral Whey, Rennet, Whey, Whey Protein Concentrate.

7. Ingredients made from Pig Fat:

Calcium Stearate, Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate, DATEM, Diglyceride, Ethoxylated Mono- and Diglycerides, Glycerin, Glycerol Ester, Glycerol Monostearate, Hydroxylated Lecithin, Lard, Margarine, Mono- and Diglycerides, Monoglyceride, Natural Flavors (if any ingredient from pork fat), Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids, Polyoxythylene Sorbitan Monostearate, Polysorbate 60, Polysorbate 65, Polysorbate 80, Propylene 
Glycol Monostearate, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Softener, Sorbitan Monostearate, Tocopherol.

8. Vitamins from pig's liver & other pig parts:

Vitamin A, Vitamin B 5, Vitamin B 6, Vitamin B 12, Vitamin E, Vitamin 

(Read more about news and updates on halal, haraam and mashbooh ingrediants in processed foods:

Copyright © Islamic Center of The Bahamas @ Nassau, The Bahamas. All rights reserved. Contact Webmaster.
Hosted by