New Supplement Rules for Paths of Glory - Back to School Sept. 2000 to May 2001





Special Play of Early Game Reinforcement Cards as events (Turns 2-6 ONLY)


At the end of the Mandatory Offensive determination on turns 2-6 only, each player is allowed to play one Reinforcement card (CP first) as an event and than draw another card from his draw pile. This play does not count as an action, but does count against the limit of one Reinforcement card per nationality per turn. British Armies cannot be brought on as a Reinforcement in this manner until Turn 3. The BR MEF unit cannot use this rule to arrive on the map.





Russian 12th Army


The Russian 12th Army may also appear in Riga or Odessa if the fortresses in those locales are still intact and in supply. This is in addition to the 12th’s normal arrival spaces.





CP Fortified Machine Gun Card (CC)


If this CC is used in a defense involving a full strength GE Army (not “Army Det.”), add 1 to the loss number that the defender rolls in the battle. This is in addition to the +1 drm effect.





German Army Defense at Trench 2


If a full strength German Army is defending at Trench 2 (not canceled by Royal Tank Corps, Plan 1919, or a tank effect when playing the “Out of Africa” variant), add 1 to the loss number that the defender rolls in the battle as long as the attacking Allied Player has less than a +2 drm from CCs.





Disbanding Full Strength Armies


Only Germany, France and Britain are allowed to do this. Disbanding a Full Strength Army yields 2 same nationality RPs that can be redistributed immediately. Full Strength “Army Dets” may not be disbanded. Note: MEF could be “converted” to a corps via withdrawal from the MEF beach-head. See PoGNotes file.





Arrival of German “Army Dets.”


GE “Army Dets.” (historical designations “A” & “C”) may arrive on a CP Trench 1 space inside of Germany, in the same manner as they would normally arrive at a German Fortress.





Independent Air Force


May not be played as an event until Summer 1917.





Italian Front Stacking


Once at TW the Allied Player may stack 4 high on the Venice and Udine locales as long as one of the units is a corps.





“Everyone into Battle” Card


When “Everyone into Battle” is played as an Event the Allied Player may also use 2 OPS points that Action Phase only, and use the OPS nationality cost effects for that action as well as for the rest of the turn.





Zimmerman Event


The Zimmerman Card can only be played as an event once war status is 34 or more; it may not be played for OPS, SRs, or RPs.





CP VP for Brest Peace from Allied Player


If the CP Player accepts a Brest Peace offer from the Allied Player (or is forced to accept via die roll), he gets +1 VP.





RP Play:


When either player plays the first card in a turn for RPs, he may take one RP derived from that play for immediate use as part of the action by in-supply Great Power unit(s) (either eliminated or reduced Great Power unit(s) can use the RP). The remaining RPs are saved for use at the end of the Game-turn in the Replacement Phase as normal. This type of RP Play cannot be done on Turns 1 & 2 since those are monthly turns. BR may not use a RP in this manner if they are currently subject to U-Boats or the Zepp. Raids Event.





Full use of Cards with the PoG Player’s Guide published March 2001:


This variant allows the use of a total of 70 cards per Player including almost all the new cards that appear with the PoG Player’s Guide:


Each Player gets the normal 55 cards that came with the game, the 10 printed cards that came with the Guide, and the following 5 variant cards (use the blanks) that also came with the Player’s Guide:


CP uses variant cards #s: CV4, CV3, CV5, CV6 & CV7


Allies uses variant cards #s: AV4, AV3, AV2, AV6 & AV7


Notes on variant cards:


Card AV2 is considered a limited war card not a MW card. That way both sides have 16 each MW cards. Card CV7 must be played by the 3rd Action Phase of a turn. Cards AV6 & AV7 may not be played in the same Game Turn. AV6 is played first, then AV7 in any succeeding turn.


Cards CV7 & AV3 may be played during the Mandatory Offensive Phase. If done in this manner they do not count as an action, and require the targeted Player to execute those attacks in the upcoming turn. They can also be played during the Action Phase by the third action of the turn.


New Card Totals:	CP MW: 16	LW: 25	TW: 29


	Allies MW: 16	LW: 26	TW: 28


Each Player draws 8 cards for a hand while at MW. Each Player draws 9 cards for a hand while at LW & TW.


All Game-Turns have 7 (not 6) action phases and the players should use the rule for Game Turn 2 to 6 Reinforcements outlined at the top of this document, however extend it one turn to Game Turns 2 to 7.


Once per turn, a player may elect to roll a die and take the total on it for OPS & SRs, rather than playing a card for an action. But don’t use the Spring 1918 onwards rolling 2 dice for OPS & SRs change.


Changes in new Printed PoG Cards from the Player’s Guide:


Allied Cards:


#56 Paris Taxis: The Allied Player may play this card as a Combat Card (CC) to flip one French understrength Army on or adjacent to Paris just before it attacks or defends. (This replicates the historical event.)


#57 Russian Cav.: these units must appear in two separate locales, they may either appear at an intact in supply Russian fortress or with a full strength Russian Army inside Russia proper. Russian Cav. may be replaced, but cannot come out of the Reserve box after a Russian Army is eliminated. Only RU inf. corps & the Czech Legion can do that.


#64 This card may not be played as an event unless the 1st or 2nd US Armies have already been brought on as Reinforcements. The Allied Player gets the US 3rd Army (from the 1919 rules) in addition to the two US Corps on the card. Also Play of this card provides the Allies with 1 US RP for immediate use.


RU Special Notes: New RU units: Cav. & Czech Legion may not operate in the Near East. “Czech Legion” may not be Played after Bolshie Rev. and is removed after treaty of Brest-Litovsk. “Russian Cav.” may not be played after “Fall of the Tsar”. Russian Cav. Corps cannot be used for RU Army breakdown moves. Don’t use RU GD Corps counter (see PoGNotes file) if playing with new cards.


CP Cards:


#63 As part of this event/action the CP Player may do One OPS after flipping the four Russian units.


Armistice: Don’t use the 1919 event rules (see below & above for incorporation in the game), but the game may extend to as late as Summer 1919 (Turn 22). Roll at the end of each turn war status is OVER 40. If a 5 or 6 is rolled the war will end during an action on the next turn per the armistice rules in the 1919 section. Otherwise on a 1-4 the war continues; check next turn again for possible Armistice. Regardless of war status the roll for war end may not be made until the end of Summer 1918 (turn 18).


Rolling for Armistice: Roll die at the end of each Action Phase. If the die roll is less than the number of the Action Phase, the war ends.


Some 1919 events incorporated directly into the game:


Romanian Re-entry: Check for after rolling for mandatory offensives - Allies must control Sofia or Belgrade and the VP total must be 12 or less. If this is the case & Romania has left the war, roll dice: on a 4-6 Romania re-enters. The Allied Player may check every turn this case obtains at his option.


Plan 1919: Allied Player may make one “Plan 1919” type attack per turn in the Spring and Summer of 1919. Royal Tank Corps has to have been played as an event to allow this.


British/Italian War-Weariness/War Aims:


Prerequisite: war status 34 or higher


Check for these events before rolling for mandated offensives on Turn 21 (Spring 1919). Roll for each Nation, on a 4-6 the event is implemented for the respective nation.


Allied Naval Operations: These can be conducted in lieu of an action. Either or both can be done on turn 21 or 22, but not as consecutive Allied actions.


Bulgar War-Weariness:


Prerequisite: war status 38 or higher


Check for this event right after the first Allied Attack on a Bulgar unit during turns 19 & 20 (Fall 1918, Winter 1919). Roll die, on a 4-6 remove any single Bulgar Corps from play (Allied Player’s choice). Do the check roll & any removal once per turn right after the combat resolution. If any Bulgar unit is removed this way, Bulgaria is considered demoralized, any Allied takeover of Sofia will result in the immediate surrender of a demoralized Bulgaria (all Bulgar units removed permanently and any vacant Bulgarian locales that can trace to Sofia immediately become Allied controlled).


Czech Revolt:


Prerequisites: war status 38 or higher and all three of AV6, AV7 and the Allied “Czech Legion” cards must have been played as events.


If all these events are in place, roll a die during the Mandatory Offensive Phase of turns 19-22: on a 5-6 implement the Czech Revolt (under the “Crash of Empires rules” in the 1919 file) & credit the Allies with �1 VP. Apply these effects to A-H on the turn of the revolt only:


Allies may reduce any one full-strength A-H army to understrength immediately.


All attacks on locales that hold A-H army units are at +2 drm & the A-H gain no advantage from occupying trenches in those locales, the Allied Player could even launch flank attacks on them.


Treat any mountain spaces occupied by A-H units as if they were clear for combat purposes for the rest of the turn. Use this rule even with mixed CP stacks.


All A-H fortresses on the map are considered reduced to level 1 for the rest of the Game Turn.


New Random Events & RP Chart [original in PoGNotes file]�roll 2 dice each turn starting the Mandatory Offensive Phase of Turn 3 and each MO Phase thereafter:


2  ANA Revolt (-)*// Sixtus Affair* ++


3  Persian Tribes*//Anglo-Afghan War* ++


4  1 Allied RP


5  1 BR or IT RP (Allied Choice)


6  1 FR RP  + First U-boats*//REF to France*++


7  1 RU RP @ + Sud Army*//11th Army*++


8  1 GE RP +  AUS-CND Corps*//2 RU Corps* ++


9  1 A-H RP


10 1 TU or BU RP (CP Choice)


11 Albanian Clans*// Serb Partisans* ++


12 SN Revolt (-)*//Turkish Reinforcements*(AoI or Yld)++


++ If the event to the left of the slash has occurred, the die roll on that line will default to the item on the right of the slash, even if it is the first roll of that # in the game.


* Event may only occur once per game


@ Read a Die roll 7 as no event after Fall of Tsar


Explanation of New Events:


RPs: Free RPs for immediate use, or at end of turn. These events can occur any number of times.


"SN Revolt (-)*" and "Arab Revolt (ANA)(-)*": If these events have not taken place by card play they happen due to the roll on this table, regardless of whether or not Turkey is in the war. The corps unit in question (ANA or SN) is placed on the map in an understrength condition at the regular location. Any future play of the event card linked to this unit for OPS, SRs, or Replacements results in the card being discarded. If Turkey is not in the war when the ANA is placed on the map, the ANA remains in Arabia without attacking until it enters. These events can only happen once per game either by card play or roll on the table. If the event has already occurred then the events default to “Sixtus Affair” or to “Turkish Reinforcements” (2 and 12 respectively, see bottom for details on these events).


"Persian Tribes*/ Anglo-Afghan War*": The first roll of 3 allows the CP Player to pick any one Allied corps in Persia to reduce by one step. If there are no Allied corps in Persia, the CP gains immediate control of the Ahwaz and Khorramabad spaces in Persia. Ahwaz may now be used as a limited supply source for 1 Turkish corps in that space or adjacent. This corps may be activated. The second roll of a 3 results in the Anglo-Afghan War: the Brits must withdraw 1 BR Corps from the map or Reserve Box or +1 VP to CP.


Albanian Clans*: The first roll of an 11 results in Albanian Bandit/Partisan activity in Albania. If only one side has corps in Albania, the other side picks one to be reduced. If both sides have corps in Albania roll die: 1-2 the Allies, or 3-6 the CP gets to pick which corps is reduced. If neither side has forces in Albania, both Albanian spaces become controlled by the CP, and Tirana becomes a limited supply source for one A�H Corps as in the Persian Tribes event. Note that armies in Albania never get reduced due to this event.


“Serb Partisans*": On the second roll of 11, the event “Serb Partisans” occurs. Allied Player can choose to do one of three things:


a) Reduce any CP corps in Serbia by one step.


b) Place an eliminated replaceable Serb corps at full strength on any vacant space in Serbia, regardless of control status.


c) Place the "Serb Partisan Corps" (1-1-3 flip to a 0-1-3) in any vacant space in Serbia.


If a 3 or 11 are rolled three times, the third and subsequent rolls result in a reroll on the above table.


“1 RU RP + CP Sud Army*/ GE 11th Army*”: The first time a "7" is rolled, implement the Sud Army nationality rules along with 1 extra RU RP. Second time, implement the 11th Army nationality rules along with 1 extra RU RP. Any future play of the event cards linked to these events for OPS, SRs, or Replacements results in the card being discarded. Third "7" on, treat as 1 RU RP only.


“1 GE RP + AUS/CND Corps*/ 2 RU Corps*”: First time an "8" is rolled, bring on the AUS/CND corps into the Allied Reserve box + 1 GE RP. Second time, 2 RU Corps + 1 GE RP. Any future play of the event cards linked to these units for OPS, SRs, or Replacements results in the card being discarded. Third "8" on, treat as 1 GE RP only. AUS/CND can still arrive if Allies at MW.


“1 FR RP + First U-boats*//REF to France*”: First time a “6” is rolled implement the “Early U-Boats” event + 1 FR RP including the war status change. Second time bring on the FR/RU REF corps in Paris or any FR port + 1 FR RP. Any future play of the “First U-Boats” for OPS, SRs, or Replacements after being activated through this chart results in the card being discarded. Note that “First U-Boats” requires the CP to be at LW when the event is implemented. Third “6” and on, treat event as 1 FR RP only. For details on the REF see the PoGNotes file. The REF cannot arrive if French Mutiny or Bolshie Rev. has been played.


“Sixtus Affair”: On the second time a “2” is rolled implement the event “Sixtus Affair” as long as it hasn’t happened yet. Any future play of “Sixtus Affair” for OPS, SRs, or Replacements if activated through this chart results in the card being discarded.


“Turkish Reinforcements*: On the second time a “12” is rolled implement the TU Reinforcement event Army of Islam (AoI) or Yilderum (YLD) at the choice of the CP Player. Any future play of a TU Reinforcement Card for OPS, SRs, or Replacements after being activated through this chart results in the card being discarded. These units may even appear if the CP is at LW.





Free OPS in the Near East for Both Sides:


Once a Player is at LW he gets one free OP move point per turn that may only be used for Movement or Combat from spaces that are wholly in the Near East. This free OP point may only be used in conjunction with an OPS action (either by card, optional die roll, or the 1 OPS action). Exceptions: The Allied Player may use this free OPS to move or attack with RO or GR corps only on the main map. The CP Player may use this free OPS to move or attack with Bulgar Corps located in spaces in Bulgaria only, or Turkish Corps located in European Turkey(those spaces in Turkey on the main map).


Once a Player is at TW he gets two free OPS points per turn. They may be used as outlined above, but no more than one per action phase, and only one of these points per turn can be used outside of spaces that are wholly in the Near East.





Landwehr, Race to the Sea, and Free OPS


Play of Landwehr or Race to the Sea events by the CP Player grants that player One OPS point in addition to the event that is part of the same action. In the case of the Race to the Sea event the OPS may be used to enter one of the three “Race to the Sea” spaces, but the move must halt in the first of the three spaces entered.





Changes in the Turn 3 “Autumn Struggle” Historical Scenario:


These reflect the new cards & new card play available in the Player’s Guide. The only thing that has to be changed is the card configuration at start.


Of the new Allied cards the Allied #56 MW Card “Paris Taxis” has been played, and add Card #57 “Russian Cav.” to the opening Allied hand, so the Allied Player has 8 cards in his hand.


For the CP add card #56 “Withdrawal” to the initial CP hand.


CP card # 57 “Kiasertreu” has already been played. The CP Player should also have 8 cards in his hand.


Each Player has played & removed 7 MW cards thus far in the game.





