.:. home .:. essays & notes .:. guestbook .:.

essays & notes


The Eightfold Path & the 7 Planets


This article will endeavor to try to give a simplified overview of the eightfold path of Buddha, and its correspondences to 7 Hermetic "planets" and the Qabalistic Tree of Life.

Eightfold path

Wisdom (Panña)

1) Right view (samma dihi)
• Preliminary: knowledge of the Four Noble Truths.
• Higher stage: knowledge and understanding of the not-self doctrine, impermanence, dependent origination, the five aggregates, "karma", rebirth, and so on.

2) Right intention (samma sankappa)
• Right intention can also be translated as "right thought", "right resolve", or "right aspiration" or the exertion of our own will to change.
• And what is right thought? Being resolved on renunciation, on freedom from ill will, on harmlessness (ahimsa): This is called right though

Ethical conduct (Sila)

3) Right speech (samma vaca)
• Abstaining from lying, abstaining from divisive speech, abstaining from abusive speech, abstaining from idle chatter
• "one naturally has to speak the truth, has to use words that are friendly and benevolent, pleasant and gentle, meaningful and useful"

4) Right action (samma kammamta)
• Abstaining from taking life, abstaining from stealing, abstaining from unchastity: This, monks, is called right action[8].

5) Right livelihood (samma ajiva)
• Based around ahimsa – harmlessness
• You cannot engage in business with companies that are involved with “"trading in arms and lethal weapons, intoxicating drinks, poisons, killing animals, [and] cheating" and ”prostitution”
• In business, one should refrain from "[s]cheming, persuading, hinting, belittling, [and] pursuing gain with gain”

Mental discipline (Samadhi)

6) Right effort (samma vayama)
• the Buddhist practitioner's continuous effort to, essentially, keep his or her mind free of thoughts that might impair his or her ability to realize or put into practice the other elements of the Noble Eightfold Path

7) Right mindfulness (samma sati)
• Roughly speaking, "mindfulness" refers to the practice of keeping the mind alert to phenomena as they are affecting the body and mind.

8) Right concentration (samma samadhi)
• (i) Quite withdrawn from sensuality, withdrawn from unwholesome states, a monk enters in the first jhāna: rapture and pleasure born from detachment, accompanied by movement of the mind onto the object and retention of the mind on the object.
• (ii) With the stilling of directed thought and evaluation, (he/she) enters and remains in the second jhāna: rapture and pleasure born of concentration; fixed single-pointed awareness free from movement of the mind onto the object and retention of the mind on the object; assurance.
• (iii) With the fading of rapture, (he/she) remains in equanimity, mindful and fully aware, and physically sensitive of pleasure. (He/She) enters and remains in the third jhāna which the Noble Ones declare to be "Equanimous and mindful, (he/she) has a pleasurable abiding."
• (iv) With the abandoning of pleasure and with the earlier disappearance of elation and distress...(he/she) enters and remains in the fourth jhāna: purity of equanimity and mindfulness, neither in pleasure nor in pain.

Panña, sila, and samadhi reflect Tiphareth (Sol), Netzach (Venus), Hod (Mercury) roughly.


7 planets

1) Right mindfulness (samma sati)
• Awareness of senses (more Saturn’s Earthy side)
2) Right view (samma dihi)
• Impermanence, karma, not-self

3) Right livelihood (samma ajiva)
• Benevolence/harmlessness

4) Right effort (samma vayama)
• Standing guard against ‘enemy’ thoughts and behaviors contrary to the 8-fold path

5) Right concentration (samma Samadhi)
• Joy, rapture, equanimity

6) Right action (samma kammata)
• Being loving – not hurting others or taking from them
• Chastity

7) Right speech (samma vaca)
• Control of speech

8) Right intention (samma sankappa)
• Aspiration

Hosted by