Cymru Alliance
25 Apr 2009
Glantraeth 1 Penrhyncoch 1

Glantraeth had the chances to round off the season with a victory yet only a stunning penalty save from keeper Marc Newbould prevented Penrhyncoch going home with all three points.

Good pressure from Glan in the early stages saw Mark Owens hit a powerful dive that found Penrhyn keeper Richard Morgan well positioned to save then Morgan did even better to fingertip over a header from Kevin Roberts.

On 19 minutes Owens shot wide for the home side but four minutes later the visitors went ahead as Glan failed to effectively clear the ball and although Newbould went down well to save an effort from Dylan James the ball spun free to Josh Shaw who had the easiest of conversions.

The Anglesey side continued to make the better chances with a good run from James Burgess giving Anthony Hughes a shooting opportunity only for the keeper to save well with his feet. Kevin Roberts tried his luck on 38 minutes but failed to make a clean contact but the pressure paid off two minutes later as a cross from Chris Evans was met by Mark Owens who volleyed an unstoppable shot into the roof of the net for one of the best goals seen at Cae Trefdraeth this season.

There was controversy three minutes into the second period as referee Peter Kewley gave a penalty against Danny Wade after the Glantraeth defender had clearly played the ball but the wrong was righted as Marc Newbould made a brilliant flying save from Tony Jones's spot kick.

Although play was switching from end to end it was Glan who continued to look the more likely scorers, Kevin Roberts shooting wide on the hour mark and Emyr Rowland, Mark Owens and Kevin Roberts again all having efforts on goal that failed to trouble Morgan.

With two minutes remaing Burgess forced the keeper to go full length after meeting a cross from Mark Owens but Glan had a let off at the other end with time almost up as Danny Wade made a great rescuing header then Tony Jones fired wide as the visitors threatened to sneak a late win.

Glantraeth: Marc Newbould, Eppy McFadden, Caerwyn Roberts, Jarl Glynn, Danny Wade, Mark Owens, Anthony Hughes, Emyr Rowlands, James Burgess, Kevin Roberts, Chris Evans


Hosted by