Hosted by


University of Glamorgan
Gaelic Football Club



Latest News





Photo Album

Ladies Football






Plate Final Glamorgan eventually overwhelm Bolton

University of Glamorgan 1-8 University of Bolton 0-3

AFTER a close and competitive affair in the first half the University of Glamorgan eventually ran out deserving winners by a comfortable margin of eight points. Bolton had first use of the wind as they played into the Pavilion end in the first half.
Glamorgan settled much better than their opponents and were guilty of three bad wides in the opening ten minutes before Aidan Callaghan combined to score Bolton’s first point.

It was no great surprise when Glamorgan were soon back on level terms when after Tom Vaughan was upended in the square Kevin Lawless sent the resultant penalty over the bar. Two minutes later Tipperary man Seamus McLoughney had another to put the Wales-based College into the lead which they were never to relinquish. Then came the first of three outstanding saves from Bolton’s brilliant goalkeeper Paul Dixon to deny a certain goal from a Denis O’Neill effort in the eighteenth minute. The latter did however register a point a minute later.

The Bolton goalkeeper was called on yet again to make another save five minutes later before their best forward Aidan McCabe scored their second point. However it was clear the Lancashire college were under severe pressure particularly in the middle of the field where Mark Daly was having an outstanding game.

Bolton did have the final say in the first half when Peter O’Mahony had their third point to leave the score at the interval: Glamorgan 0-4 Bolton 0-3

The second half was all one-way traffic for Glamorgan and when Denis O’Neill did eventually beat goalkeeper Peter Dixon eight minutes after the resumption the result was never in doubt. Bolton failed to raise a flag in the second half and so Glamorgan ran out easy winners on the score 1-8 to 0-3.

Glamorgan: S Galvin, T Foley, J Healey, J O’Donnell, W Mainprize, D Gillerian, G Miley, M Daly, D O’Brien, J Knowles, K Lawless, P Dooley, S McLoughney, D O’Neill, T Vaughan. Sub: T Corrigan.

Mark Daly

Glamorgan Captain Mark Daly receiving the Plate from GAA President Sean McCague