Tribal Division

Ethnically Eritrea is divided into nine tribes. These are (in alphabetical order) the: Afar, Bilen, Hedareb, Kunama, Nara, Rashaida, Saho, Tigre and Tigrigna. Each of these tribes speak its own language, but English is the defacto working western language. In addition to the local language Tigrigna, Arabic is widely spoken. Many older people also speak Italian.

Click on the Thumbnails for a larger Image
Afar Hedareb Kunama Nara Rashaida

Saho Tigre Tigrigna
Hosted by