Reviving the Past:

Revising My Approach to Rock Art

Grant S. McCall
University of Iowa

With comments by John Clegg

I intend this to be the beginning of a productive discussion. Please read the following (if you are interested and foolhardy enough) and I encourage a brief response after reading. I expect constructive criticism and advice that can refine our understanding of how rock art works. After a few weeks time, I will reprint the responses and provide a brief response of my own. You may respond without me reprinting your response. Simply indicate so in your response. To respond, you may either access my guestbook, or you may email me at [email protected].

I have been considering writing this piece for about four years. In fact, I had a version written once until I decided the revised version still did not say exactly what I wanted to say. I have been working on this version for nearly a year now. I guess the place to start is to say that this piece replaces online a piece that I wrote in the spring of 1997 in which I presented the case for a shamanistic interpretation of rock art. I explicitly intended the piece to be popular, which by all means I intend this one to be. And I largely succeed in my goal. Over the last four year, the piece that this replaces has received more than 1.2 million hits. This is certainly a somewhat anomalous number, and I know that it was not read 1.2 million times. Yet, I should say that when I wrote that piece, I never imagined that I would get such a response. It became circulated far beyond what I intended. As this process continued, I began to accrue this odd sense of guilt for contributing (in gross fashion) to the popularity of an idea that had suspect scientific merit in the capacity in which I described it. In other words, what I said was generally undocumented. The ideas that I expressed were beginning to take hold to an extent beyond what I was really comfortable with. So, not long after I finished the last piece, I be