Official Errata The following are changes to the official rules, and alterations to card text. All players are recommended to use these new rulings and should expect to see them enforced during sanctioned tournaments. New Rules 1) When designing your House Profile, the cost to buy spice is the CROE +1 2) At Setup, the amount of spice in the Guild Horde is 4 + 2 per player. 3) When a card becomes subdued during a Rite, only cards which participated in the Rite are also subdued. Cards which remain deployed continue to produce their effects. If you have a card which allows you to move attached cards off their parent, such as Carryall, you may use them to move deployed cards off subdued cards. Attached cards which are subdued gain deferment tokens normally and cannot be redeployed until their parent card is. You cannot attach cards to subdued card. 4) During the Rite Initiation Interval, during Defender Engagement, the Defender has the option to engage the declared target. Targets which are not engaged during this phase do not apply force as normal, cannot have attached eligible cards engaged to participate, and must have their resistance equaled or exceeded normally in order to subdue them. If the Defender opts to engage the Target of the Rite, the Rite proceeds normally. 5) The House Disadvantage has been errataed to read: "Whenever you come to govern a persona bearing allegiance to another Imperial Power, you must discard one favor. If you ever Capture a persona bearing Adversarial Allegiance, you must immedeately subdue it. If you later deploy the card, you must discard favor equal to its deployment cost." ----------- Card Errata Wierding Way should read "Initiate a Rite. The assigned persona gains a +X bonus to their Force where X is the target's Wierding Rank." The Persona using this card need not posses the required talent for the Rite. Litany Against Fear should read: "Initiate a Rite. The assigned persona gains a +X bonus to their Resistance where X is the target's Wierding Rank." The Persona using this card need not posses the required talent for the Rite. Caladan Exports should have a resistance of 6. Forbidden Zone has the following card type/subtype: Homeworld : Dune Fief Petitioning Tithe should read: Once deployed, no other House may deploy Petitioning Tithe during the current petition. If this card is used by the Petitioner, the cost for the card is paid to himself. This does not lower the cost, or allow you to ignore the restrictions on bidding. Usurp Holding may be used to target Dune and should read: "Transfer a target subdued, non-homeworld holding to it's governor's assembly. " Well-Placed Bribes should be a declaration tactic, not an engagement tactic. Shield Failure should read "discard a target shield." Secret Allegiance is assigned once, and the second allegiance of the target persona is chosen then. This allegiance does not change from the initial assignment to further deployment from subdual. Best Blade should read "Apply X force to target ally. If applied force equals or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the assigned persona's dueling rank." Implicate Traitor should read "Apply X force to target ally. If applied force equals or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the assigned persona's intrigue rank." Pogrom should read "Apply X force to target fief. If applied force equals or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the assigned persona's battle rank." This will affect Tupile, since Tupile is immune to Battle Rites, not Ventures, and this Venture does not create a Rite. Provoke Insurgency should read "Apply X force to target charter. If applied force equals or exceeds the target's resistance, subdue the target. X equals the assigned persona's arbitration rank." Brilliant Rhetoric should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter." Perilous Terrain should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter." Secund-Elect Dueling should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter." Unforeseen Difficulties should read "Duration Effect: Target persona may Counter." -- Additional Last Unicorn Net Rep Rulings Spice Infusion Changed by adding "Limit One." Only one copy of this card can be deployed on a persona at a time. This means, if you put one on a persona, you cannot put another on until you use the first and it is subdued. Then you can deploy another and after you use it, redeploy the first one next turn, cheaper, because it gets tokens on it for free while subdued. Once you get three on someone, one of them will always be subdued with 3 tokens. Making it a slightly different, but still usable card. Petitioning Tithe Changed to say "Duration Effect. Assign to the petition target. The victor must pay [X solaris of the final deployment cost] to you instead of the Imperial treasury. X equals the final deployment cost minus the listed deployment cost. Once deployed, no other house may deploy Petitioning Tithe." Guild Bank Arbiter At the present moment consider any card that is a "Charter" and a "Dune whatever" to be considered a target Dune charter for this card. JOC Harkonnen Sleeper If a player attempts to use an ability like Gauvir's in an inappropriate situation (ie: trying to look at a non-event card) then the card is still engaged/used and you would simply state that it is not an event. Grant Furlough & Voice Command Voice Command takes precedence here, meaning that you may sell a persona with Grant Furlough but at the end of your turn when Voice Command is discarded, they are transfered back to the original owner. Production Quota Does Production Quota (Guild JOC Event) gain Spice for the Guild Hoard from Deserts that are already Engaged? No. The reason is that Production Quota must be used to engage the deserts to produce the spice in the hoard. In essence, this card is the Emperor saying, "I want more spice available and you will send your spice in now." Voice Command Any secondary effects from using a captured persona are the "current" governor's gifts. Example: If I VC Piter and capture someone with him then I keep the persona....even when Piter goes back. Renegade Sister Her special ability may only be used on the governor's turn. Kaldo Radij/Jamis vs Emperors Truthsayer Emperor's Truthsayer may be used to change the target of a rite performed by either of these individuals. Military Transport vs. Smuggler Frigate Using Smuggler Frigate negates any cost, even when doubled by MilitaryTransport. Zero cost doubled is zero. Effect of enhancements on subdued personas Cards that are assigned to a subdued target still have their printed effect, so long as that card effect does not require you to engage it. Here's an example: Full Reverednd Mother always gives the following effects to its assigned target: +1 Weirding Rank, +1 Resistance and Immunity to Poison Effects or to use your example, Subterfuge always gives its assigned target +1 Intrigue Rank but Carryall could not be used to transfer a Spice Harvester if the Spice Harvester or the desert it was assigned to are subdued nor could you move them to a subdued desert. Palace Keep & Homeworlds Does Palace Keep work on the new Dune based JOC Homeworlds? Yes, it works on all homeworlds except Forbidden Zone. Desert Hawk & El-Sayal vs. Windtrap Can a Desert Hawk and/or El-Sayal discard a Windtrap? Yes, both may affect a Windtrap card assigned to the appropriate target. Umma Can you use Umma to FREELY deploy an Event which requires No extra Deferment tokens? If the target event currently has deferment tokens equal to or greater then the deployment cost then yes, you may deploy it using Umma, at a cost of zero. You must still engage the persona to do so. Assassin's Honor If Player A declares an Intrigue Rite vs Player B's Guard Commander and B plays Assassin's Honor on A's House Assassin do both cards end up subdued? Yes. And quite honestly, I had never considered using Assassin's Honor in this manner but since I can assign it to my opponent's attack leaderthen it will definitely work. I like this use a lot........ Mahdi Well, currently it looks as if Mahdi does allow its governor to engage *any* Fremen persona to counter. So for the present moment, consider the ruling to be that yes he can engage a rival's Fremen to counter. Programs You must have an Imperial card in your deck to purchase an alligned Program. Also, Progrmas are not Ventures! Cards that effect Ventures do not specifically effect Programs. Unless a card says it effects either Programs or Plans it does not effect Programs. Shadow Partnership A player may have deployed in their domain, Shadow Partnership and the card it was used to copy originally. You copy my Suk School, subdue mine and then deploy your own is perfectly legal. Elacca Languor The discard happens immediately. Diplomatic Settlement This card refers to the main defense participant when it states 'target'. It may be used by attacker or defender. It has no effect when the main defense participant is already engaged. Spice Mining Inspection The player must pay the full amount in spice. If they can not then they must pay favor equal to the CROE and no spice. A Leader with a Decree The leader must be disengaged to use the tactic on a decree unless the decree does not state "engage target". Governor of Arrakis If someone governs Dune then you must discard this card. Thus if someone already governs Dune then you would not want to play this card as you would immediately discard it. Soo-Soo His 'Engagement Tactic' is not a duration effect. You can use during an engagement phase and it would end at the end of the rite it was used in. Gang Assailants, Dishonerable Knifework, Ploitical Combine and Battle Company You use these cards to group current, legal, already included rite participants into one massive force for the duration of the rite. Thus allowing you to combine their resistance and force into one amount. Hellhounds Paying i solaris to give a Hellhound surprise means if you have 2 Hellhounds assigned to a persona then you would pay 1 solaris per Hellhound. Right now there is only one kind of Hellhound, so this may seem odd wording, but maybe there are other kinds coming? Homeworld/Dune Discard, Capture and Transfer Homeworlds & Dune may not be Transfered, Captured or Discarded. Usurp Holding no longer works to send Dune back to the Assembly. Counter Conspiracy You may pay X and assign the Venture now......and use it at a later date. You must, however, track what you payed for it so that you do not use it against an illegal target. (I would have a different token to mark how much I pay for it - I do this with Spice Infusions now). You may indeed use this card against a venture of less cost but MAY NEVER use it against a higher cost then you paid. Yes, you can set X to whatever you want using Gurney (TaT). New Duncan Idaho A Fabled Crysknife does count as a Crysknife for his ability. Regent-Siridar Regent-Siridar either increases a cards spice production or increases acards solaris production. It does not allow a card to gain a new type of production. Wake Shot The key words here are "when engaging......to assign deferment tokens......" so it won't really help Yueh or any other physician that isn't engaging to add tokens. Beyond the Faufreluches (Smugglers) Here, you must first be at 0 or less favor before this card has any effect. If you are at 0 or less AND THEN you are required to lose favor you may assign tokens to it. Master at Arms Only the Master at Arms may use this ability......not anyone else. Arrakeen Richece AR must be a participant to gain any favor from them. CHOAM Complot Yes, this stops persona's tactic abilities, if they say they are 'tactics'. Maneuver Pawn You, the current player, gains any secondary benefits from using this card, like capturing while using Piter. It can be used to attack the 'current' governor of the persona and thus may either cause them to pay the penalty or you both gain the reward (solaris or favor). Piter (EotS version), Margot, Liscia They must survive the rite to capture/discard.